Show Review: Black Pumas

House of Blues Houston

Maya Bechi, M.Ed
3 min readDec 15, 2023

--

Image by Author : The Black Pumas and lead singer Eric Burton, House of Blues Houston 2023

My artist’s solo date of the month? A concert for a genre I don’t typically listen to: Psychedelic Rock.

The Grammy-nominated American soul and psychedelic group from Austin delivered stellar vocals and a musical experience that provided the psychedelic high I didn’t expect to get. Vocalist Eric Burton artfully blended a sound that felt like a long lost brother to Kendrick Lamar and Andre 3000. He spoke messages and he sang melodies to our hearts and our minds. They made us move more than just our feet and hands.

The Set List:

Gemini Sun

Know You Better

Fire

Touch the Sky

More Than a Love Song

Chronicles of a Diamond

Mrs. Postman

Stay Gold

Oct 33

Colors

Encore: Rock and Roll

Part of the reasoning for taking a solo artist date is to engage myself in expressions that call me deeper into a connected state where fear of sharing art and ideas vanish. This concert was the epitome of that kind of expression and I was inspired and motivated. The transcendence it made across my heart, which is typically…

--

--

Maya Bechi, M.Ed

Perfectly imperfect. A myriad of musings, research and writings. Educator, Indie Publisher, Supportive Human. Look me up. www.robsonandpuritan.com